Subject Details

Roman Catholicism


The Roman Catholic Church (RCC) is an apostate (formerly orthodox, but no longer so) church. After Constantine and subsequent Roman emperors adopted Christianity, eventually making it the official religion of the Empire, many significant theological errors, and then heresies, began to creep in. By the Fourth Lateran Council of 1215, the RCC officially adopted a synergistic (faith plus works) doctrine of salvation. The Council of Trent in 1545-1548 anathematized anyone who contradicted this doctrine. The 1994 Catechism of the Catholic Church reaffirmed Trent’s doctrine and is still the official doctrine of the RCC.  

1. Purgatory 
Acts 9:27-31
Hebrews 9:23-10:4 

2. Veneration of Mary 
Luke 1:26-37, Part I
Luke 1:26-37, Part II

3. Veneration of Angels 
Revelation 19:1-10
Revelation 22:6-21

4. Prayers to the Saints & their provision of merit
Acts 2:44-3:10

5. No need for earthly priest to absolve sins 
Hebrews 7:1-3
Hebrews 7:4-25
Hebrews 7:26-8:11

6. No apostolic succession after the first century 
Acts 1:12-17
Acts 1:18-26
Revelation 2:2

7. Peter was not the first Pope
Acts 11:4-18

8. Veneration of the Pope
Acts 10:1-26
Acts 10-27-35
Acts 14:7-18

9. Transubstantiation 
Luke 22:1-13
Luke 22:14-30
Romans 6:8-13
Hebrews 7:4-25
Hebrews 7:26-8:11
Hebrews 9:10-28
Hebrews 9:23-10:4
Hebrews 10:5-22
1 Peter 3:18-22
Revelation 1:10-2:2

Sermons in Roman Catholicism